Forgot password?
Home » Other News
Global Himalayan Expedition wins WTTC Tourism for Tomorrow 2018 Awards
  • April 2018
Global Himalayan Expedition, one of the unique Tourism venture in India, based at the foothills of Himalayas has won prestigious Tourism for Tomorrow 2018 Awards instituted by World Travel & Tourism Council (WTTC) for their outstanding community services.  Global Himalayan Expedition (GHE)  India , bagged the coveted award in the category of Community Award-
Thompson Okanagan Tourism Association, British Colombia, Canada honoured with Best Destination Award and Environment Award category has gone to Airport Authority Hong Kong, Hong Kong, while  Virgin Atlantic, UK has bagged ,Innovation Award and  Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges, Costa Rica is the winner in the category of People Award. 
This year’s winners are industry leaders who promote inclusive growth, and work toward a greener future as a result of their proactive contributions to sustainable development and the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).  
Global Himalayan Expedition funded by Mr. Paras Lamba has already electrified more than 100 Himalayan Villages  and partnering with other organisations to setup microgrids in various parts of the world.  GHE has also been conducting customised Leadership expeditions for corporates such as GE, IEEE as part of their middle and senior level management employees’ engagement program. 
The 2018 leaders in sustainable tourism were recognised during the 18th WTTC Global Summit in Buenos Aires, Argentina, celebrate inspirational, world-changing tourism initiatives from all over the globe.  The Awards, which presented at a special ceremony The 2018 Awards winners are highly commended and recognised for business practices of the highest standards that balance the needs of ‘people, planet and profits’ within our sector.The 2018 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards winners are Community Award \" Global Himalayan Expedition, India . 
Ms. Gloria Guevara Manzo, President  & CEO, WTTC, commented: “This year the Tourism for Tomorrow Award finalists prove just how diverse and all-encompassing our sector’s commitment to sustainable growth is. The award categories are designed to demonstrate that every player in the Travel & Tourism industry has a role to play in driving the sector to a more responsible future - whether providing training to people from disadvantaged backgrounds, protecting vital wetland areas via ecotourism or operating the world’s greenest airport. I congratulate them all on their achievements and leadership. This year’s award winners demonstrate not only that tourism can be sustainable, but that it provides tangible benefits to destinations, local communities and travellers. We hope that our award winners will motivate the Travel & Tourism sector to be part of a more sustainable world.” 
Ms. Fiona Jeffery, OBE, Chair, WTTC Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, stated: “The role of the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards is to showcase some of the most outstanding examples of sustainable tourism practise in the world and inspire and motivate our industry to be the change we want to see and experience. The Tourism for Tomorrow 2018 finalists and winners each demonstrate vision, leadership, and a long-term commitment to ensuring our industry focuses on creating better places for people to live in and better places for people visit. This year however we have seen more cross sector collaboration and an acknowledgement that steps can and should be taken to assess tourism impacts more effectively which is an encouraging development.”
Mr. Jeff Rutledge, CEO, AIG Travel, the headline sponsors of the Awards, said: “From operating the world’s greenest airport to establishing Africa’s first marine park, this year’s Tourism for Tomorrow finalists are a diverse group of change makers from all over the globe. The 2018 winners demonstrate that regardless of size or purpose, all businesses in the Travel & Tourism sector can make sustainability a priority and become part of our collective journey towards a greener future.” 
The Awards are judged by a panel of independent experts, led by Graham Miller, Executive Dean, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences at the University of Surrey. The winner of each category is determined by the winners’ selection committee which is chaired by Fiona Jeffery OBE, Tourism for Tomorrow Awards Chair, and composed of: Sandra Howard Taylor, Vice Minister of Commerce, Industry and Tourism of Colombia; John Spengler, Director of the Centre for Health and the Global Environment of the Harvard School of Public Health; and Darrell Wade, Co-Founder and CEO of Intrepid Group. 

Add Your Comments