Forgot password?
Home » Headlines
UNWTO honoured 'Mother of Tourism' with Ulysses Prize
  • January 2018

The World Tourism Organization (UNWTO)  announced  the winners of the UNWTO Ulysses Prize and the UNWTO Ethics Award, as well as 14 finalists for the upcoming 14th Edition of the UNWTO Awards for Innovation in Tourism.

The UNWTO Awards recognize inspirational individuals and projects for their innovative achievement as well as their invaluable dedication to developing and advocating sustainable tourism in line with the UNWTO Global Code of Ethics for Tourism and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

The 14th Edition of the UNWTO Awards will take place in January 2018, co-hosted by FITUR, the International Tourism Fair in Spain/IFEMA in Madrid, Spain. The Awards Ceremony will be preceded by the UNWTO Awards Forum where finalists will present their respective projects.

UNWTO Ulysses Prize awarded to Valene L Smith, Professor Emeritus and Research Professor at the California State University, Chico, California, United States of America, for Excellence in the Creation and Dissemination of Knowledge in Tourism. Professor Smith is a pioneer in tourism and anthropology, with an extensive number of projects and accomplishments throughout her extensive career. Her classic book, ‘Hosts and Guests’ (University of Pennsylvania Press, 1977), proceeded by her 1953 geography courses, marked the start of this connection becoming explored by an army of scholars. She was recognized in 2000 as Women of the 20th Century, and is a recipient of the US Chamber of Commerce’s Community Service Award.

UNWTO Ethics Award recognizes Europa Mundo Vacaciones as the winner of this second edition of the Award for its initiative “Europa Mundo Foundation”. Europa Mundo Vacaciones is a Spanish tour operator strongly committed to the principles of environmental and social responsibility and has achieved remarkable results in the implementation of the UNWTO Global Code of Ethics for Tourism, particularly in its contribution to community well-being and sustainable development of tourism. A Foundation aimed at conducting social activities and development cooperation in different areas and for specific segments of the population, as well as to promoting sustainable tourism in many countries of Africa, Asia, Europe and Latin America.

14 Project finalists of the UNWTO Awards for Innovation in Tourism

UNWTO Award for Innovation in Public Policy and Governance          

MiBarrio - Mercado de Hacienda Applied Research Project, Ente de Turismo del Ministerio de Modernización, Innovación y Tecnología  del  Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires, ArgentinaLongmen Grottoes “Internet + Longmen” action plan, Management Committee of Longmen Grottoes World Cultural Heritage Park, China and Turismo de Portugal, Portugal for Tourism training talent (TTT)

UNWTO Award for Innovation in Enterprises

The Great Plains Conservation Foundation, Botswana and Kenya for Conserving and Expanding Natural Habitats, Mangalajodi Ecotourism Trust, India for Conservation and Livelihoods Valle dei Cavalieri, Italy for Community and Resilience Balesin Island Club, Philippines for Three-Pillar Innovation Initiative

UNWTO Award for Innovation in Non-Governmental Organizations

The Sumba Hospitality Foundation, Indonesia for educating and empowering local communities for sustainable tourism future, Indonesia for Connecting community, local friends, and visitors to a unique experience and happiness Associazione YODA, Italy for IT.A.CÀ - Migrants and Travelers, Festival of Responsible Tourism

Grupo Ecologico Sierra Gorda, Mexico for Strengthening Community Tourism

UNWTO Award for Innovation in Research and Technology

EarthCheck, Australia for Building Planning and Design Standard (BPDS)

Croatian National Tourism Board, Croatia for tourist information system

SEGITTUR, Spain for Smart Tourism System (STS)

Tourism India, India’s  Travel &Tourism Magazine, Kerala, India

Add Your Comments