Ministry of Tourism has identified 15 theme-based circuits for development, spanning the entire country, which include the Buddhist Circuit, Coastal Circuit, Desert Circuit, Eco Circuit, Heritage Circuit, Himalayan Circuit, Krishna Circuit, North-East Circuit, Ramayana Circuit, Rural Circuit, Spiritual Circuit, Sufi Circuit, Tirthankar Circuit, Tribal Circuit and Wildlife Circuit

A similar scheme, the Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive (PRASAD), with the same objectives as the Swadesh Darshan scheme, aims to develop 13 pilgrimage cities across India. 

A Tourist Circuit is defined as a route having at least three major tourist destinations that are distinct and apart. Circuits should have well-defined entry and exit points. A tourist who enters should be motivated to visit most places identified in the circuit.

A Circuit could be confined to a State or could be a regional circuit covering more than one State/Union Territory. These circuits may have one dominant theme and other sub-themes.

Projects under the scheme shall be under the following themes; Eco-tourism, Wildlife, Buddhist, Desert, Spiritual, Ramayana, Krishna, Coastal, Northeast, Rural, Himalayan, Tribal, and Heritage.

Swadesh Darshan – 15 Theme-Based Circuits

Buddha Circuit: This pilgrimage circuit encompasses the most significant destinations for Buddhist tourists, spanning across states such as Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, and Andhra Pradesh.

Coastal Circuit: Geared towards reinforcing India’s identity as the land of “Sun, Sea & Surf,” the Coastal Circuit showcases the extensive coastline of India, stretching 7,517 km across states like Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Kerala, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, West Bengal, and includes Andaman and Nicobar Island.

Desert Circuit: Drawing global tourists, the Desert Circuit in India offers a unique niche experience, highlighting the country’s vast deserts, including the Thar Desert with its dunes and high temperatures, the arid lands of Kutch, and the dry and cold valleys of Ladakh and Himachal.

Eco Circuit: Focused on fostering a positive connection between tourists and nature, the Eco-Tourism Circuit aims to showcase nature and environment-friendly destinations across states like Kerala, Uttarakhand, Madhya Pradesh, Telangana, Mizoram, and Jharkhand.

Heritage Circuit: Celebrating India’s rich heritage and culture, the Heritage Circuit covers states such as Rajasthan, Assam, Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat, Puducherry, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Madhya Pradesh, and Telangana. With 36 UNESCO World Heritage sites and an additional 36 on the tentative list, this circuit aims at preservation and better interpretation for global travelers.

North-east Circuit: Focused on tourist-centric development, the North East Circuit includes states like Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura, and Sikkim.

Himalayan Circuit: Paying homage to the Indian Himalayan Region, this circuit covers Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, and the North-East region.

Sufi Circuit: Dedicated to celebrating the age-old Sufi tradition in India, this circuit emphasizes unity in diversity, communal harmony, and the unique music, art, and culture associated with Sufi saints.

Krishna Circuit: Developed to explore places associated with the legends of Lord Krishna, this circuit spans across states, primarily Haryana and Rajasthan.

Ramayana Circuit: Focused on locations associated with the legends of Lord Rama, the Ramayana Circuit aims to enhance the tourist experience, with Uttar Pradesh being the primary focus.

Rural Circuit: Aimed at revitalizing the rural economy, the Rural Circuit covers destinations like Malanad Malabar Cruise Tourism and Bihar Gandhi Circuit: Bhitiharwa – Chandrahia – Turkaulia.

DDUGJY (Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gram Jyoti Yojana) – Rural Tourism: Refer to the Gist of Kurukshetra for more information.

Spiritual Circuit: Catering to the spiritual traveler, this circuit covers states like Kerala, Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Bihar, Rajasthan, and Puducherry.

Tirthankar Circuit: Highlighting Jain Shrines and the teachings of Jain Tirthankaras, this circuit explores destinations associated with non-violence, love, and enlightenment.

Wildlife Circuit: Showcasing India’s diverse wildlife, this circuit focuses on sustainable and nature-centric development, emphasizing National and State wildlife preserves and sanctuaries in states like Assam and Madhya Pradesh.

Tribal Circuit: Offering insights into India’s vibrant tribal traditions, culture, festivals, craftsmanship, art, and rituals, this circuit covers the states of Chhattisgarh, Nagaland, and Telangana for development.